Midnight in Austenland

Midnight in Austenland is a book written by Shannon Hale.  I received this book from Net Galley on my Kindle.  Since I had read Princess Academy (which was a children’s book that won the Newberry Award and was also written by Shannon Hale) and loved it, I thought that I was going to enjoy reading this one.  It was not until after I agreed to review it and downloaded it onto my Kindle that I realized it was an adult book that I did not feel up to reading.  Since I downloaded it, however, I am required to write a 200+ review on it, so I will attempt to do so.

Charlotte is a lady who once married, but I personally did not get the idea that she ever fell in love. She just married.  But then her husband died.  She does not know what to do, and crumbles away inside herself.  She starts to get wrinkles.  She is unhappy.  Charlotte does not know what to do with her life.  Some of her friends think that she should go and find the perfect man and fall in love and get married, etc, etc.  Charlotte really does not know what to do.  Like Princess Academy, this book took a while to pick up in the beginning, or I was just impatient.

Do not let my bad review keep you from reading Miss Hale’s works, though, as she is a great children’s author.  I believe one of the reasons that I did not understand this novel was because I think there is another “Austenland” novel that I missed that came before this one.  Whether or not it is required to read that one first, I am sorry to say that I do not know.

Leave a Reply

