A Word of Encouragement for all my fellow Princesses

“See! The winter is past; the rains are over and gone.  Flowers appear on the earth; the season of singing has come, the cooing of doves is heard in our land.  The fig tree forms its early fruit; the blossoming vines spread their fragrance.  Arise, come my darling; my beautiful one, come with me.” (Song of Solomon 2:11-13)  God loves us so much.  Well, this is probably an understatement that you have heard a lot.  It’s true; however small or insignificant you may feel, God loves you and rejoices in you.  He is preparing you to become the bride of His one-and-only Son, Jesus.  God wants you to rejoice in Him, keeping your focus on Him instead of your troubles.  In Isaiah 41: 13, God says to you, “For I am the Lord, your God, who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you.”  Just imagine, the One who created the whole universe for His glory taking time out of His day to walk next to you and hold your hand.  God is so in love with us, and He wants our feelings to be mutual.  He wants us to put our whole being into loving and following Him, and not other things, because He is jealous for us.  Can you believe it? God, in charge of armies and armies of angels, wants us.  In Exodus 20:5b-6, God tells us, “for I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, punishing the children for the sin of the fathers to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me, but showing love to a thousand  generations of those who love me and keep my commandments.”  Don’t you love it when, after a punishment, there is always a “but”? That’s when God is pretty much saying, “I know what’s best for you-Me.  I will punish you when you do wrong so that you can see that, but I will always love you and welcome you back to Me.” The Lord deserves our praise, and uses us to bring further glory to His Almighty Name! Jesus has redeemed us from our sins, and wants us to remain pure in Him.  He has forgiven your sins and is just waiting to bless you! In Zephaniah 3:14-15, 17, 20, God says, “’Sing, O Daughter of Zion; shout aloud, O Israel! Be glad and rejoice with all your heart, O Daughter of Jerusalem! The Lord has taken away your punishment, he has turned back your enemy.  The Lord, the King of Israel, is with you; never again will you fear any harm.  The Lord your God is mighty to save.  He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.  At that time I will gather you; at that time I will bring you home.  I will give you honor and praise among all the people of the earth when I restore your fortunes before your very eyes,’ says the Lord.”  At the end of verse 15, we see another name of the Lord, the King of Israel.  When you become a Christian, you become a child of God.  What is the daughter of a King called? A princess! So when you become a Christian, you also become a princess.  Not an earthly princess, with billions of dollars, but a princess in the palm of God.  Not only are you a daughter of the King of Kings, but you also are betrothed to His Son, the Prince of Peace.  Stop and consider that for a moment.  In verse 17, the Lord says that He is with you, and that He is mighty to save. “Mighty to save” means that He doesn’t just throw you a rope for you to climb out of your ditch.  It doesn’t just mean that he will give you a Hello-Kitty band-aid! It means that the Lord has lots of power, and when He saves you, you will be redeemed from your sins in His timing and He will hold you in His hand.  He says in Isaiah 49: 16, “See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls are ever before me.”  God sees your troubles, your “walls”, and is holding you in His hand while you go through hard times and good times. Even when you may not be feeling up to it, God wants you to bring glory to His name.  He says in Isaiah 42:6-8, “I, the Lord, have called you into righteousness; I will take hold of your hand.  I will keep you and will make you to be a covenant for the people and a light for the Gentiles, to open eyes that are blind, to free captives from prison and to release from the dungeon those who sit in darkness.  I am the Lord; that is my name! I will not give my glory to another or my praise to idols.”  Again, the Lord is saying that He will take hold of your hand and lead you to show others that He has redeemed them, just like He did for you.  God wants all people to live for Him and rejoice in Him.  He wants us to stay in Him, in everything, and stay pure.  2 Corinthians 11:2 says, “I am jealous for you with a godly jealousy.  I promised you to one husband, to Christ, so that I might present you as a pure virgin to Him.” In case you have not quite grasped the point, let me close with these two verses from Hosea 2:19-20.  They say, “I will betroth you to me forever; I will betroth you in righteousness and justice, in love and compassion.  I will betroth you in faithfulness, and you will acknowledge the Lord.”  The Lord will love you forever.  Think on that today, and share with others about how YOU are a princess of God, betrothed to your very own Prince of Peace, who has redeemed you and given you life! Go and bring glory to your King today!

Leave a Reply

