Charity’s Cross

 

“Charity’s Cross” by MaryLu Tyndall is the “fourth” book in the Charles Towne Belles series.  This was a really fun read because I’ve read a lot of MaryLu Tyndall’s books, and so I recognized characters from a lot of her other books.  She combines the characters from the previous three Charles Towne Belles books and integrates them into the heroine’s history, but also takes many, many characters from her Legacy of the King’s Pirates series to add to the hero’s background.

 

Charity Wescott Villemont has suffered under the thumb of her abusive husband long enough. She didn’t listen to her father or sisters’ warnings not to marry him, and now her family has sailed off to America, leaving her in England.  Well, she’s had enough.  Oh, it was an accident, of course–she never meant to shoot him.  But now he’s dead, and she’s on the run for her life from her late husband’s brother who wants her hung.  She figures she may as well sail for Charles Towne and meet up with her family, but she doesn’t anticipate how hard it will be to book passage as a single female, nor how far her brother-in-law will chase after her.

 

Elias Dutton, son of Morgan and Rowan Dutton, happens along Charity on her journey to freedom when she jumps overboard.  The unlikely relationship that ensues between them was unique, but fun to read.  I loved how their chemistry was strong, but their commitments kept them focused on other things; Elias, to help his sister; and Charity, to reach hers.  Eventually, through their journey together, will they find that they need each other? Will Charity and Elias learn to trust again?

 

     I really liked this book.  The plot was good and the resolution didn’t seem to come too quickly for me, as other books have done.  This one seemed realistic.  I also liked the characters; I connected with them and found that they didn’t seem like the author was just trying to push her luck and squeeze as many stories out of the same characters’ families as possible.  No, these characters had original personalities and dialogue, and I really enjoyed it.

 

Thank you so much to the author for providing me with a copy of this book to review.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*
Leave a Reply

