The Wedding Chapel

 

 

    The Wedding Chapel by Rachel Hauck is, from what I’ve been able to tell, a sequel of sorts to The Wedding Dress.  I have not read the latter and this book worked as a stand-alone for me.  I like Rachel Hauck’s works because the are unique in the way that they weave in God’s plan for the characters and how He speaks to them.  The Wedding Chapel was fairly confusing to me, as I didn’t read it in one sitting.  Each chapter is from a different of four characters’ viewpoints, two in the early 1950s, and two in the present.  For me, putting the book down and picking up over a couple of weeks, I quickly got confused which characters and plots were which.  Figuring out the relationships between the four was also confusing, but ultimately rewarding.  I would still recommend this though! It was a different “romance”; it was more than the boy-meets-girl and falls in love.  The Wedding Chapel had many twists and turns and interweaving of characters’ lives, so I would say to lean towards reading it when you have a lot of time on your hands.  I would also recommend it to a little of an older audience because of some of the themes, betrayal,  and choices that the characters made.  Overall, it was a fantastic read.

 

Thank you so much to the Thomas Nelson and Zondervan Fiction Guild for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive, nor were they affected by anything other than the book itself.

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

