You’re the One That I Want

 

You’re the One That I Want by Susan May Warren is the sixth and final book in the “Christiansen Family” series.  I’ve followed this series off and on, reading blog posts about how much others love it.  I personally have read the prequel novella, books two and three, and this book.  Even so, I’ve been able to follow the plots and characters fairly well, and the book would work as a stand-alone.  The only thing that would be overwhelming to new readers of the series would be keeping track of all the family members.  Otherwise, it wasn’t too bad to jump in, which, I’d imagine, would be a hard thing to do for an author who’s connected enough to the characters to write 6.5 books about them!

 

Elise “Scotty” McFlynn is the daughter of a captain on an Alaskan crabbing ship.  She’s used to being the only girl around, and tells her fellow workers to call her “Sir”.  She’s earned the respect behind the title; after her mother’s death when she was a child she worked with her father on his boat, and since his heart attack, she’s picked up his slack.  So she’s not going to stand for just anyone to come along and try to flirt with her.  She’s focused on helping her dad.

 

Owen Christiansen is the “bad boy” of his family, and he just needs to get away from his past. Ergo, he joins an Alaskan crabbing expedition, not expecting to fall for the captain’s daughter.  When they get swept off the boat and into the sea, will he be able to make her fall for him too?

 

I love reuniting with the characters in this book! I thought it was a sweet story and I enjoyed the references to musicals like Grease and Les Miserables.

 

Thank you so much to Tyndale House Publishers and Net Galley for providing me with an electronic copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to  be positive, nor was I compensated in any way aside from receiving the book itself.

Leave a Reply

