Bonus: From This Moment

 

From This Moment is the latest stand  alone novel by Elizabeth Camden.  It’s published by Bethany House and was a fascinating read.  Elizabeth Camden is one of my favorite authors because I can tell that she puts a lot of research and time into her novels, but her insight is woven into the story in a way that I find myself interested, not bored.  The characters in this book are passionate about the publishing process: the type fonts and illustrations.

 

Romulus White is a part owner of a scientific newspaper in Boston.  He’s been fighting his way to the top for years, and he wants to hire London artist Stella West to grow his subscribers.  Stella has always been elusive to him throughout the years that he’s pursued employing her.  Now, however, he finds out that she’s in Boston too, and he continues his search.

 

Stella West is impressed yet annoyed by Romulus’s pursuit, but she has more important things on her mind.  Her sister has recently passed away, and Stella suspects foul play, so she seeks employment at the same place where her sister worked before her death, hoping to find clues.

 

I really liked this book from Ms. Camden; it was better than Until the Sunrise but still not as good as, in my opinion, The Lady of Bolton Hill or Against the Tide.  The characters were quirky, and I didn’t actually like Romulus too much, but I enjoyed the mystery aspect of the plot.  Overall, I would still recommend it, but perhaps not to a reader new to Elizabeth Camden.

 

Thank you so much to Bethany House publishers and Net Galley for providing me with an electronic copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive, nor was I compensated in any way other than receiving the book itself.

Leave a Reply

