Counted with the Stars

 

Counted with the Stars is the debut novel Connilyn Cossette and is the first book in the “Out of Egypt” series, which is published by Bethany House.  I was hesitant to give this a try because I haven’t been a huge, huge fan of biblical fiction, but this may turn out to be one of my favorite novels of the year! I read it in a weekend; once I start I couldn’t put it down.  I got my whole family and some of my friends hooked onto reading it also.  I wouldn’t recommend starting to read this if you can’t finish it in one setting.

 

Kiya is a Egyptian whose family has fallen upon hard circumstances.  Her father make a bad business deal and had to sell Kiya as a slave to a nearby family.  At seventeen, Kiya is heartbroken; she was practically engaged to be married and now she is reduced far below the status that she’s always known.  Thankfully, she befriends a servant in the household whom she laughs with and works with.  This servant girl, Shira, is a Hebrew, and she tells Kiya of her God.  When plagues begin to assault Egypt, Kiya must decide which god she will follow, even if it means leaving her all she’s known behind.

 

I really really really loved this book.  I’ve always wondered what it would be like to experience the 10 plagues of Egypt, and this book allowed me to do so through the author’s imagination.  This is such a fascinating book.  The characters are well-developed and the plot moves right along.

 

Thank you so much to Bethany House publishers for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

