Without Rival

     Without Rival by Lisa Bevere is the latest book out from Messenger International.  I read this one alongside Lysa Terkeurst’s Uninvited, and I must say, reading them in conjunction was amazing.  However, since I did that and they had similar messages, it was a little hard to separate my opinions of them.

Without Rival centers its message on rivalry, comparison, and rejection within the church, and how women can step up to the roles that Christ intended for them.  The first half of the book seemed to just be the author venting on how women were/are treating as “less than”, and then the second half of the book was really powerful.

I would recommend both Without Rival and Uninvited, but I must say that the latter is an easier read.  Both talk about rejection and competition, and both are encouraging, inspiring reads, and I would recommend reading them at the same time like I did (a chapter of one on one day, a chapter of the other the next day).  If you don’t want to read two books on the same topic, then I would suggest Uninvited over Without Rival.  (I realize the irony of comparing two books on comparison, though, in case you were wondering.)  Personally, I enjoyed both books, it’s only that Without Rival was a little harder to read.

Thank you to Net Galley and Revell publishers for providing me with an electronic copy of this book to read and review.  All my opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

Leave a Reply

