The Ringmaster’s Wife

 

The Ringmaster’s Wife by Kristy Cambron is a standalone novel, and the first that I have read by this author (although not the first of hers that I’ve seen around–just the first I’ve picked up).  It certainly made a good first impression!

This book, I’ll admit, was a tad bit hard to get into, but only because there were two different main stories about 20 years apart, and the flip-flopping back and forth got a little confusing.  Overall though, once I had the characters and time periods straightened out, it was an incredible book.  The story’s setting is unique and thoughtful, which I loved. I always enjoyed going to the circus as a kid, and so reading this book almost felt like a behind-the-scenes look into the Ringling Brothers’ Circus.  It was so, so cool! I know that seems a little lame to say, but really, this is a very neat story.  It’s set in the early 1900s, where we meet John Ringling and Mable, and then eventually Lady Rosamund of England.  I loved how their stories connected, how detailed the descriptions of the backstage circus looked, the descriptions of the performances, everything! It really, really was an incredible book, and it will most likely be one that I’ll read again.  It’s the story of women stepping out and taking hold of their dreams, of not giving up, and of trying new things.  It’s the story of how their lives were woven together.  And it’s worth a read.

Thank you so much to Thomas Nelson publishers and their Fiction Guild for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own, and were not required to be positive.  I would recommend this to all ages.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

