The Things We Knew

519kfin0pl-_ac_us160_

 

     The Things We Knew by Catherine West is a stand-alone novel, and the first one that I have read by this author.  It is published by Thomas Nelson, and I received it from their Fiction Guild.

     Lynette Carlisle was twelve when her mother passed away, but she doesn’t remember any of it.  She has nightmares and flashbacks, but no matter how hard she tries, she can’t piece together the glimpses of memories into what really happened.  Years later, she is the sole caretaker of her father, whose mental health is failing.  Lynette has so much on her hands that she doesn’t know how to react when her childhood crush moves in next door.

     Nicholas Cooper practically grew up with the Carlisle family, but has lost touch with them over the past couple of years.  When he moves back in with his dad, he has to come to terms with what happened to Mrs. Carlisle, while rebuilding a friendship with Lynette.

     Once I started this book, I finished it within 2 days.  This book sucks you right in, being a mystery, romance, and a sweet story about familial reconciliation and forgiveness.  I would highly recommend this story! The characters grab you from the first page and hold your interest throughout the story.  Even though I guessed the “who done it” about halfway through, I still wanted to know what happened to the characters and I finished reading it.  I would highly recommend this book; it’s a good, quick read.

     Thank you so much to Thomas Nelson publishers and their Thomas Nelson and Zondervan Fiction Guild for providing me with a copy of this book.  I was not required to review it, either positively or negatively, and all opinions stated in this review are my own.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Leave a Reply

