Child of the River

 

Child of the River is the second book written by Irma Joubert that is translated into English and published by Thomas Nelson, the first being last fall’s release of The Girl from the Train.  While these books are both stand-alone, they are set in the same time period and location of South Africa.

Persomí is such an amazingly complex character; I absolutely fell in love with her.  She is so real, her emotions aren’t overstated but are just perfectly written.  Persomí is a simple village girl with a complicated family and a multi-layered dream.  This is the story of her childhood, her teens years and law education, and her passions as she fought for the rights of minorities.  While this is a work of fiction, it is a well-written and inspiring story nonetheless.

I would highly recommend this book! The characters are so complex and the storyline flowed smoothly; I really am at a loss for words on how to describe this novel.  It has the same heart-grabbing type of characters as The Girl from the Train and a unique setting and perspective on this time period like I’ve only read from this author.

Thank you so much to NetGalley and the Thomas Nelson and Zondervan Fiction Guild for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Leave a Reply

