The Wedding Shop

51hatt8riul-_ac_us160_

 

The Wedding Shop by Rachel Hauck is the second of two books in the “Heart’s Bend” series, the first being “The Wedding Chapel“.

In the earliest time period that the book goes between, it’s the early 1930s.  Cora Scott is a single woman running her own wedding dress shop business and waiting for her sailor to come back to her.  As she waits, she faces the pressures of both business and a man in town wanting to be with him.

In the present time period, Air Force Captain Haley Morgan returns to her hometown of Heart’s Bend after serving in the military to find her best friend dead and the old wedding dress shop building that they’d dreamed of owning together in the midst of being torn down.  As she fights for the building to stay put, she faces opposition from people she thought could be trusted with her dreams.

As with the first in the series, I found all the time-travel jumping confusing, but once you get used to it, the story is good, although having the story told from three or four main character’s point of view is very confusing too.  Personally, I like Rachel Hauck’s “Royal Weddings” series better, as they are less confusing to read, but these are still good historical/contemporary/inspirational/slightly mysterious/Christian/romance books.  I think they aren’t my cup of tea because they try to be so many things at once, but I have read a lot of good reviews about them from others.

Thank you to Thomas Nelson and Zondervan’s Fiction Guild program for providing me with a copy of this book.  All opinions are my own.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Leave a Reply

