The Illusionist’s Apprentice

510xfemmml-_ac_us160_

 

The Illusionist’s Apprentice by Kristy Cambron, which may sound like a sequel to The Ringmaster’s Wife, is not.  Both are stand-alone novels.

Wren Lockhart was an apprentice to Harry Houdini before he died, and now she is the only one who knows how he did his tricks.  This puts her as a target for the next up-and-coming magician, Horace Stapleton, whose latest trick leaves a man dead with the FBI after him.  The dead man has a piece of paper in his pocket linking Wren to the case.

Agent Elliot Matthews is on the case, and is intrigued by Wren Lockhart, who hates the guts of Horace Stapleton, but is still somehow linked to his case.  Can he discover who is in danger, who is safe, and who is chasing Wren and him?  Can he peel back the layers that make up Wren Lockhart and discover who she really is?

I LOVED THIS BOOK! I didn’t think I would be able to get into it at first, with the murder happening in the first chapter and me not knowing who was who, but once I got into it, I was hooked.  The characters were so complex, and the plot kept me guessing the whole time–it was almost frustrating because normally I can guess “who done it”, but with this book I was on my toes and reading at every chance I got.  The underlying messages of trust and loyalty were more touching than I could have hoped for; The Illusionist’s Apprentice  wasn’t just a good novel or a good mystery.  It is a novel celebrating the hope we have in Jesus Christ and His resurrection.  It’s only the second novel I’ve read by this author, but it will not be the last.  Her works are inspiring as well as entertaining.  I would highly recommend!

If you’re looking for a good historical novel with a unique setting and plot, for a mystery that will keep you up at night, for characters to cheer for, or simply for a piece of entertainment that is uplifting at the same time as it is enjoyable, then this is a book you will want to read.

Thank you so much to Thomas Nelson and Net Galley for providing me with an electronic copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Leave a Reply

