An Uncommon Protector

51zick3dr5l-_ac_us160_

 

An Uncommon Protector by Shelley Shepard Gray is the sequel to The Loyal Heart, which was  number one on the list of My Top Ten Favorite Books of 2016.  So needless to say, I was super excited for this book to release, and had very high expectations for it.  An Uncommon Protector  met and exceeded those hopes; I finished it in one sitting and absolutely loved it.  I will admit, it was predictable and the plot wasn’t necessarily unique, but it was a fun read nonetheless–definitely with a lighter feel emotionally than the first, although the characters still have their struggles.

This works as a stand-alone, picking up with another faithful soldier from the group that we readers met in the first book, and tells his story.  Set in the post-Civil War period, this book flashes back to the war and prison camp throughout the book so that we can get a bigger picture of Thomas Baker’s story.  Thomas Baker can’t always hold his tongue when he should, and this gets him into trouble both in and after the war.  When the story picks up after the war, we find that he’s imprisoned because he can’t pay off some gambling debt.  Since he isn’t seen as a dangerous criminal, Thomas is part of a group that helps a local young lady with the ranch she inherited after both her parents died.

Laurel Tracey is grateful for the help on her ranch, but knows she needs more help than just an every-now-and-then help from the jail.  Thus, she hires a local convict, paying his fees to get him out of the jail.

Like I mentioned at the beginning, this was a fun, lighthearted read.  While the plot was predictable, the characters were unique, and I quickly grew to love them.  I would definitely recommend this novel.

Thank you to Thomas Nelson and Zondervan’s BookLook Bloggers reviewing program for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Leave a Reply

