To the Farthest Shores

51ipyrt8qrl-_ac_us160_

To the Farthest Shores by Elizabeth Camden is a stand-alone novel published by Bethany House. Camden has her own unique style of writing, and while most of her books have been “hits” for me, there have also been a handful of “misses”. To the Farthest Shores falls somewhere in between. The characters drew me in with their histories and heartbreaks, and the subplots involving Japanese culture during WWII and pearl farming were very interesting. When I read Ms. Camden’s writing, I feel as if I am learning something new while reading for pleasure. On the flip side, sometimes all the information about such random topics can bog down the story. While I did not think this was the case with To the Farthest Shores, there was a fine line between interesting facts being woven in and feeling decidedly not entertained. This book was right on the line, but still enjoyable for me; I finished it in a matter of days because the characters had drawn me in and I wanted to see them get their happily ever after. There was no memorable action or intrigue to keep the plot moving past the loads of information, just a desire to see the characters reconciled. I would still recommend it for history buffs and people who usually read nonfiction and would like some educational fiction to read, but for someone looking for a romantic saga to sweep you off your feet and get you swooning, this would probably not be it. All in all, I don’t say this to be negative. There are other books of Ms. Camden’s that balance romantic charm and fun facts well, especially her earlier books like The Lady of Bolton Hill and Against the Tide, and I would recommend those for readers who are new to her works.

Thank you to Bethany House and Net Galley for providing me with an electronic copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Leave a Reply

