Maybe It’s You

516h8t7tijl-_ac_us218_

Maybe It’s You by Candace Calvert is the third book in the “Crisis Team” series published by Tyndale House, and it is the first book that I’ve read in this series.  It worked well as a stand alone; I didn’t even realize that it was part of a series until I began writing this review.  This is not my usual genre, with murder and suspense and medical drama, and it’s over 440 pages…but I found myself gripped to the story just the same (although I wouldn’t recommend reading while eating your lunch like I did, because there are several scenes that can make you lose your appetite).

Sloane Ferrel is on the run from many mistakes that are trying to catch up with her, both mistakes she’s made and mistakes from others in her past.  She comes to work in the L.A. ER as a nurse with a new identity, where she just wants to blend in and escape her past.  But that sounds easier than it is when Micah Prescott’s campaign to remake the face of the L.A. hospital involves putting the face of one employee on billboards around town.

Micah Prescott just wants to remake the reputations of both himself and L.A. Hope hospital, but is intrigued by the new nurse and curious as to why she is so private.  Things escalate though when a mysterious young girl becomes a victim and then disappears out of the ER.

WOW, what a book! There was never a dull moment; it had so many twists and turns that every time I’d thought I’d figured something out, it would turn out to be a lie!  The characters sucked me right in; I was cheering for them the whole way through.  I would recommend this for lovers of suspense and medical drama, but be aware that there are some intense scenes.  Since this is the only book I’ve read in this series, I can’t speak too well for my favorite out of them so far, but I loved how this book worked well as a stand alone even being the 3rd in the series.

Thank you to Tyndale House publishers blogger review program for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to positive.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Leave a Reply

