Because You’re Mine

51fzjy29h3l-_ac_us160_

Because You’re Mine by Colleen Coble is a stand alone novel published by HarperCollins publishing group.  I’ve never been a huge fan of this author’s works, but when the publisher asked me to give this latest release a try, I accepted anyway.

Unfortunately, it turned out worse than any other book by this author that I have read.  I’m not a big fan of the murder-mystery/suspense genre, but when I do read books in said genre, I at least expect them to be unpredictable and hold my attention.  This book was both hard to get into and, like another reviewer said, I guessed the ending (correctly) within the first 50 pages of the book.  Now that’s frustrating, especially when the book is over 330 pages.  In addition to finding this book predictable, I found it to be generic; by this I mean that it has all the elements one would expect from a murder mystery, such as bombs and guns and knives, as well as all the things one would expect from a suspense novel, for example, ghosts and lies and storms and snakes.  In addition to these elements, there is an unfortunate amount of talk of ghosts, being haunted by someone else’s spirit, demons, a random alligator, plot holes galore, and a lot of gory details.  Being in the Christian fiction genre, I did not expect the main characters to entertain so frequently beliefs in ghosts, curses, spirits leaving one body and appearing in someone else’s body, and all the gore.  I suppose the main theme of the story was supposed to be something along the lines of love living even after death, but even that was drowned in the murky mess of this story.  This was most certainly the book least resembling my cup of tea as any of Colleen Coble’s books, and I do not plan to read any more from her (I’ve read at least five of her works, ranging from historical to contemporary, from novellas to novels, from being set in the MidWest to New England to the South, so I’d say I’ve given her a fair chance).

Thank you to Thomas Nelson publishers for providing me a copy of this book through Net Galley to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Leave a Reply

