A Noble Servant

51zr3r7k7nl-_ac_us218_

The Noble Servant by Melanie Dickerson is yet another fairytale retelling, but these never get old! This one is loosely based off the story of the Goose Girl, as you may be able to tell from the cover.  Speaking of which, I really like this cover.  The model’s long, blond hair reminds me of Buttercup from The Princess Bride, and the golden lettering is just so pretty.  I also love that you can tell which fairytale it’s based off of by the cover, as most times it’s very hard to figure that out until you read it with other Dickerson works.

As for the story itself, I really enjoyed it.  A few of Dickerson’s last works didn’t “float my boat”, but this one did.  I was hooked by the plot and was cheering for the main characters.  I appreciated the instances of prayer and belief in God, and that there seemed to be more of them in this book than in some of the author’s other works, but I didn’t think that they flowed into the story very smoothly.  Overall, I would highly recommend Dickerson’s fairytale books to tween and teenage girls who want an exciting, romantic, clean, and inspirational story that they can learn from and feel as if they are in some far-off castle at the same time.

Thank you to Thomas Nelson and Net Galley for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Leave a Reply

