For Love and Honor

51bnfpd22ul-_ac_us218_

For Love and Honor is the third young adult book by Jody Hedlund, following An Uncertain Choice and A Daring Sacrifice.  This trilogy gets better and better with every book! The wit and banter between the characters literally made me laugh aloud in delight, and the plot kept me so hooked that I read the whole book in a day.  These books are great gifts for tween and teenage girls, because the characters are that age and they are realistic and relatable.  While these books are categorized for youth, they would be enjoyed by adults as well.

Lady Sabine has been hiding her birthmark/skin blemish that covers her arm for as long as she remembers.  Revealing the spots would cause people to brand her as a witch (as this story is set in the 1300s), and ruin her chances of a successful match.  Her sassy personality and eccentric love of art also set her apart from others.  So when her grandmother takes Sabine along to purchase some paintings and relics from a noble family, Sabine is intrigued.

Sir Bennet, the last of the Duke’s knights, has lost the family fortune due to his brother’s unwise choices in the midst of grief.  Now Bennet must marry a wealthy woman in order to restore his family’s fortunes and keep them alive.  When the opportunity presents itself in Lady Sabine and her grandmother, the latter of which suggests he woo the former during their visit, he realizes he could do far worse.  Lady Sabine may not be drop-dead gorgeous, but she shares his love of art and witty conversations.  Will their new interest in each other be able to withstand the secrets they hold from each other?

I loved this book, as I mentioned at the beginning of this review.  The characters were so cute yet so real in their struggles, and the drama and plot kept a steady pace.  This would be great if turned into a movie or television series, but meanwhile, I highly recommend one enjoy it in its book form.

Thank you so much to Thomas Nelson and Zondervan’s Book Look Bloggers program, which provided me with a copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Leave a Reply

