Sweetbriar Cottage

61kabzesxfl-_ac_us218_

Sweetbriar Cottage by Denise Hunter is a stand-alone novel newly released by Thomas Nelson.  It is an emotional, heart-wrenching story about overcoming past hurts and learning to love again.

When Noah Mitchell comes down to town from his ranch house in the mountains, he discovers an unsettling problem with his taxes.  He filed as being single, having just come off a divorce.  But apparently, his ex-wife never finished up the process with filing the papers, and the judge never signed them, so he’s still married.  He storms into his ex-but-apparently-still-current wife’s barber shop to see if he can put an end to the mess.

Josephine Mitchell had a hard enough time getting over Noah, but when he comes back into her life, out of the blue, months after he broke her heart, she doesn’t know how to handle him.  Trying to patch up the mess she’s made, she gets new papers and brings them up to his mountain house to save him a trip to town.  Only, she doesn’t plan on being snowed in with the man who wants nothing more than to get her out of his hair.

Are hope and reconciliation possible? Can this couple learn to bridge the gap that their anger has caused and learn to understand the other better? How do previous hurts and disappointments play into a current relationship?

I really enjoyed this story.  Yes, the plot was slightly predictable, but the characters and their struggles were memorable and relatable.  I would highly recommend, but probably just to adults, as it does contain some hard topics.  It’s definitely a story worth reading.

Thank you to Thomas Nelson publishers and Net Galley for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Leave a Reply

