Heart on the Line

51zt-s27arl-_ac_us218_

Heart on the Line is the latest historical Western romance by Karen Witemeyer.  It’s book two of the “Ladies of Harper’s Station” series, the first being No Other Will Do.  (Note: There is a novella that takes place between these two books entitled “Worth the Wait”.)  This book also works fine as a stand alone, although the setting and background of the town of Harper’s Station and the ladies that live there is explained in No Other Will Do.

Grace Mallory is the telegraph operator of Harper’s Station, and she has begun an anonymous friendship with a telegraph operator of another station on the wire after hours.  When troubles come Grace’s way, this operator must decide if he wants to step in and protect a woman he’s never met, or turn a blind eye.

I thought the set-up was pretty unique and this book was charming.  The characters and all their quirks made me smile instead of swoon, and as such I would recommend this to someone wanting a light read but one that still contains a fair amount of action and intrigue to keep things moving along.  While I didn’t enjoy it as much as the first in the series, I still think it’s worth reading for the cleverness of the plot and characters.

Thank you to Bethany House and Net Galley for providing me with an electronic copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Leave a Reply

