Just Look Up

41r5nj7atzl-_ac_us218_

 

Just Look Up by Courtney Walsh is a really cute, relevant book.  It is a stand-alone and is my first by this author; I’ve been wanting to read something of hers after seeing so many of my favorite authors gush about her writings.

Lane Kelley is an interior designer who is very focused on her career and the company she’s involved in.  She has worked to distance herself from her childhood hometown and make a name for herself in Chicago and the interior design industry.  It’s all she thinks about, all she does, all she focuses on.  She sleeps, eats, and breathes her career.  It’s not until she receives a devastating phone call that her brother has been in a motorcycle accident that she slowly begins to wake up and look at those around her instead of being so solely focused on herself.

Ryan Brooks is Lane Kelley’s brother’s best friend, and was in the accident with him.  He had a childhood crush on Lane, and when she comes back to town to check on her brother, he’s hit all over again by his attraction to her, and he determines this is his moment to try and win her heart.  Will she be able to tear her eyes away from her phone and her thoughts away from work for long enough to notice him?

This is a sweet story that shares a good message about taking time away from your phone and paying attention to friends and family.  It’s appropriate for all ages.  I thought the plot moved along pretty well, albeit predictable, and I liked Ryan’s character.  I will admit it was a lot harder to like Lane because she was SO focused on her phone for so much of the story that it look me a while to find a reason to feel compassion for her.  But a note to those who feel the same way about Lane: stick it out.  She does have some redeeming qualities and a backstory that will help you realize why she acts the way she does.

Thank you to Tyndale House publishers for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Click the link below to watch the book trailer for Just Look Up!

Just Look Up Book Trailer

Leave a Reply

