To Wager Her Heart

51c8vi9xg7l-_ac_us218_

To Wager Her Heart by Tamera Alexander is the third novel in the “Belle Meade Plantation” series.  I read the second book, To Win Her Favor, but not the first.  Each work well as a stand-alone.

Alexandra Jamison is the daughter of a wealthy businessman in Nashville post Civil War, and she’s picked up an idea of how business works in the Reconstruction politics.  Hence, when a rugged Colorado businessman comes into town trying to expand his railroad, she doesn’t think he’ll get very far.  He rubs her the wrong way: in his lack of refinement, in his connection to railroads, and in his overall attitude.  Alexandra, still struggling with some post-traumatic stress from a horrific railroad accident that killed her fiancé, wants nothing to do with railroads yet everything to do with her late fiancé’s dream of educating freedmen, but she has no idea just how connected those things are.

I did really enjoy this book.  Like another reviewer said, it was hard to get into, but once I got into it (at about 100 pages) I thought it was worth.  The story was inspiring, the characters heart-warming, and the message one worth cheering for.  The struggle of everyday people of various races and societal classes was well portrayed and pulled at my heartstrings.  I would highly recommend to lovers of historical novels.

Thank you to Zondervan publishers and the Thomas Nelson and Zondervan Book Look Bloggers program for providing me with a copy of this book to read and review.  All opinions are my own and were not required to be positive.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention/review it on my blog. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion – which I’ve done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own and I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.*

Leave a Reply

